Political and Administrative Structure

Namisindwa District comprises of the following Local Governments and Administrative units.


Sub Counties

Town Councils



Namisindwa County


3 (Bukhaweka, Namisindwa & Luwa)



Bubulo East


 4 (Magale, Bubutu, Bumbo & Lwakhakha)









The Policy Making Organ
Namisindwa District Council the supreme organ, headed by the LCV Chairman, is supported by an Executive committee of 4 members and 5 policy/sectoral Committees. They deliberate policy matters and make recommendations to the full Council of 46 Councilors.

The Sectoral Committees include:

  • Finance, Administration, Investment, Information and General Purpose
  • Community Development (Gender, Labour, Youth, Children, Elderly and Disabled)
  • Education, Sports, Health, Sanitation and Security.
  • Production (Agriculture, Veterinary, Fisheries, Forestry, Environment, Marketing and Industry
  • Works, Water, Land, Urban and Regional Planning.

Statutory Bodies There are also statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:

  • District Contracts Committee
  • District Public Accounts Committee
  • District Service Commission
  • District Land Board

A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers replaced the District Tender Board according to the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.

Office of the Resident District Commissioner
It represents the President in the District and ensures that both national and local priorities are given due consideration and are implemented in an accountable manner.

Lower Local Governments
The District, Town Councils, Sub counties, Parishes/Wards and villages/Cells have councils and executive committees, which coordinate the various functions.

Welcome to Namisindwa District

Namisindwa District is bordered by Bududa District to the north, Kenya to the east and south, Tororo District to the south-west, and Manafwa District to the west. The district headquarters at Bupoto are located approximately 40 kilometres (25 mi), by road, south-east of Mbale, the largest city of in the sub-region.

Namisindwa District became operational on 1 July 2017.  ...